Meeting Location: 1 Avenue A, Turners Falls MA Called to Order: 1:00 PM

**Retirement Board Members Present**: Carolyn Olsen, Marianne Fiske, David Dion, Frank Abbondanzio and Cheryl Clark.

**Retirement Board Staff Present:** Administrator Shari Hildreth

#### Warrant

Contributory Retirement Warrant #09 dated September 30, 2012

Payroll	\$1	164,769.15
Transfer	\$	11,120.85
Travel Reimbursement	\$	100.65
Education	\$	540.00
Expenses	\$	3,155.93
Total Warrant	\$1	179,686.58

**New Members:** Jonathan Gerwald, GMR, paraprofessional, 8/24/12

Eileen Fortin, GMR, paraprofessional, 8/31/12 Timothy Mannion, GMR, paraprofessional, 8/27/12

## **Retirement Board Moved:**

To approve Jonathan Gerwald, Eileen Fortin and Timothy Mannion as new members of the retirement system.

Vote: 5 In Favor 0 Opposed 0 Abstained

Leave of Absence – Lapachinski: Town Police Officer Peter Lapachinski was put on unpaid leave of absence from June 17, 2012 through August 20, 2012 when the Board of Selectmen voted to take him off of unpaid leave and give him retro pay back to the beginning of the new fiscal year, July 1, 2012. This leaves Mr. Lapachinski with a 2 week window of unpaid leave. Will the Board vote to give Mr. Lapachinski the creditable service for this time as the policy states "Members on an unpaid leave of absence (who are not receiving workers compensation) will receive up to one month creditable service for the leave of absence."

#### **Retirement Board Moved:**

To approve 2 weeks of creditable service for Mr.Lapachinski's unpaid leave of absence from June 18, 2012 through June 29, 2012.

Vote: 5 In Favor 0 Opposed 0 Abstained

**Leave of Absence – Laster:** Town Police Officer Lee Laster is out on FMLA indefinitely. Will the Board vote to approve 1 month of creditable service for the leave of absence? The Board noted that Mr. Laster received a month of creditable service for a leave of absence just over a year ago. The consensus was that the Board did not feel that the intention of the policy was to provide creditable service for multiple unpaid leaves within a short period of time.

#### **Retirement Board Moved:**

To approve the creditable service Mr. Laster's leave of absence.

Vote: <u>0</u> In Favor <u>5</u> Opposed <u>0</u> Abstained

**Leave of Absence – Hudson:** Town DPW employee Billie Hudson is out on FMLA. Will the Board vote to approve 1 month of creditable service for this leave of absence? Ms. Hudson's union has a sick leave bank available, and it was decided to postpone this vote until we know how much sick time Ms. Hudson will have available, and when she will return to work.

**Travel Approval:** A Training Session was offered on Tuesday, Sept. 11, 2012 at the Northampton City Hall discussing the new Anti-Spiking worksheet by PERAC regarding Memo#38/2012. Administrator S. Hildreth attended.

## **Retirement Board Moved:**

To approve retro-active travel reimbursement for the training session.

Vote: 5 In Favor 0 Opposed 0 Abstained

**Travel Approval:**MACRS will be holding their annual Fall Conference October 15-17, 2012 in Springfield, MA. Administrator S. Hildreth and C. Olsen will attend.

## **Retirement Board Moved:**

To approve travel reimbursement for anyone attending the conference.

Vote: 5 In Favor 0 Opposed 0 Abstained

**Transfer:** Mackenzie Ellis, GMR, paraprofessional transferred 6 months 10 days to the Greenfield Retirement Board.

## **Retirement Board Moved:**

To approve the transfer of creditable service.

Vote: 5 In Favor 0 Opposed 0 Abstained

**Transfer:** Suzan Collette, GMR, paraprofessional transferred 6 years 0 months and 17 days of creditable service to the State Board of Retirement.

#### **Retirement Board Moved:**

To approve the transfer of creditable service.

Vote: 5 In Favor 0 Opposed 0 Abstained

**NOTICE OF RETIREE DEATH:** John Bassett, Option A, date of death 8/27/12.

## **List of Documents and Exhibits**

- 1. Minutes of August 28, 2012
- 2. Warrant #9
- 3. Financial reports

# <u>Page 21</u> <u>September 25, 2012</u>

Next Meeting October 23 at 1:00 PM

Adjourned 1:14PM

APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF RETIREMENT	
	Respectfully submitted,
Carolyn Olsen	
David Dion	Shari Hildreth Administrator
Marianne Fiske	Montague Retirement Board
Frank Abbondanzio	
Cheryl Clark	