Our Form of Government

Montague is a town of 8,437 people, located along the Connecticut River in Franklin County, Massachusetts.

There are five unique villages in Montague: Montague Center, Montague City, Millers Falls, Lake Pleasant, and Turners Falls. The Town Hall is located in Turners Falls, the largest village in the Town of Montague.

The Town is governed by a three-person Selectboard, and has a representative form of Town Meeting (read the Citizen's Guide to Town Meeting here), which includes 21 people from each of the five villages, each holding a three-year seat.

There are two separate Fire Districts in Montague: the Montague Center Fire District, and the Turners Falls Fire District. Each respective fire district includes their own water department.

For a complete list of districts that also serve the villages of Montague, see Other Local Districts.

Calendar of Events
Mon, Dec 11, 2023, 6:00 pm
Via Zoom
Posted to: Selectboard
  • Attached File: SELECTBOARD 2023-12-11 MEETING Agenda
  • Attached File: SELECTBOARD 2023-12-11 MEETING Materials
  • Mon, Dec 11, 2023, 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm
    Montague Senior Center
    Posted to: Cemetery Commission
  • Attached File: MCC Agenda 12-11-23
  • Tue, Dec 12, 2023, 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm
    Second Meeting Room, Montague Town Hall, 1 Avenue A, Turners Falls
    Posted to: Planning Board
    Tue, Dec 12, 2023, 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm
    Posted to: Public Libraries
    Planning Board -- SCHEDULED
    Tue, Dec 12, 2023, 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
    Montague Town Hall AND Via ZOOM
    Posted to: Planning Board
  • Attached File: Planning Board 2023-12-12 Agenda HEARING
  • Attached File: Planning Board 2023-12-12 Agenda
  • Latest News
    Two forums scheduled 12/12 and 12/13
    State Officials Announce Major Grants to Montague and Other Communities
    Wednesday, December 6-8pm at Town Hall and via Zoom